Summer

By Najma Salad

THE BLUE SAND AND RED CRABS

She told me to keep my feet away

because the blue sand was filled with red crabs

never quite understood why the sand was blue

But it must have been her blurred vision I assume

The red crabs are also a figment of her mind

tied up to her iris as they shrank looking to find

something or anything to explain why

the blue sand had red crabs

A simple explanation would’ve shattered her dreams

so I let my mother believe the blue sand was truly blue

not because she couldn’t see how cream the sand was

but because the blue hue she saw helped her see the bright red crabs

She told me to keep my feet on the blue sand

because the warmth helped the red crabs

DEEP SEA

They took a deep sigh as they looked

viewing the wide-open window casting light

as if time stopped they were hooked

Their wounds were cast away out of sight

For that moment all they could see was the kite

They wished to hold the string of hope

but time began working and the darkness followed

They watched each other slip away into the abyss

CRASHING TIDES

Everything starting to crack

as the water rose to my lungs

everything started to go black

as the tides started to collide

Everything was just beginning

but I was reaching my ending

SALTY WATER

bittersweet words filled the air

soaking up my warmth, I couldn’t bare

rivers meet where I sleep

choking me beyond repair

I ask for thicker sheets

because I need the heat

My bitter-sweet home is here

waiting for me to enter

salty waters drowned my thoughts

A chaos filled my heart

My bittersweet home was the four walls

That met at the corner of my bed

THALASSOPHILE

She told me she loved the sea

describing the ambiance of peace

that combed her thoughts for weeks

She said she loved the sea

as she watched the tides turn

soaking her legs in the warm sun

but she always found a way to return

from the same sea, she claimed she loved

leaving everything but taking the memories

That’s why I didn’t believe you, my beloved

when you say you love me

I picture the same sea you yearned for

but left behind searching for more

THE LONELY SEA SHORE

Silverlining between the cracks of dawn

brought Bewitching times of burdening sorrow

Traces of familiar footprints gone

Because they weren’t guaranteed tomorrow

An empty hollow between the breaking night

Caused a great deal of loneliness

My chest began to feel tight

Like straps of memories that last only once

Silverlining between the cracks of dawn

Brought me to see the lonely seashore

in places like this is where I truly hope to live another tomorrow

HOLD YOUR BREATH

I told you to hold your breath

you must anticipate the things that follow

I told you to hold your breath

because I thought that you would get to see what followed

not accepting your empty seat in front of me

I told you to hold your breath

So the pain would lessen

I told you to hold your breath

When they called you over

I told you to hold your breath

even when it was hard to swallow from all the pain they inflicted upon you

I told you to hold your breath

I don’t mean to cause this empty hallow

I thought holding your breath would help stop them from hurting you

 sorry I made life hard for you

THE LIVING WITHIN

Was there ever something you lived for

giving it your every bit till you were sore

Was there ever something that made you smile

that made you stop thinking for a while

was there something that’s living within you

telling you to fight for what you’re going through

For some, it’s their mothers and fathers

for other’s brother’s and their dollars

but for some, it’s only today that they fight for

because they died within before they found something to live for

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *